Tigran  Hamasyan c Kelly Davidson

Tigran Hamasyan (piano), Arve Henriksen (trumpet), Eivind Aarset (guitar), Jan Bang (sampler, live sampler)

This far-reaching double album, recorded and mixed in three days in Lugano, introduces the new group Atmosphéres, with Tigran Hamasyan, Arve Henriksen, Eivind Aarset and Jan Bang. The Norwegians had played in diverse configurations on ECM – Jan Bang on Eivind Aarset’s Dream Logic, for instance; and Bang and Aarset on Arve Henriksen’s Cartography – but with Hamasyan at the centre of the sound, bringing with him ancient folk melodies transfigured in the compositions of Komitas, other inspirations come into play. All four players are at a creative peak here, whether freely reflecting upon Armenian themes or spontaneously shaping atmospheric soundscapes together.

Comments are closed.